The Program

The Beirut Madinati Municipal Program is a plan to improve living conditions in Beirut.  It was developed by experts with decades of experience in research, consultancy, and advocacy work in urban affairs, and who have found that for many years their advocacy for people-centered urban development has fallen on deaf ears in Lebanon’s centers of power.  Realizing the futility of continuing to try to convince the Beirut Municipal Council to adopt the livability of the city as a core concern, this group has launched a campaign to elect qualified individuals whose primary objective is to make Beirut more livable: more affordable, more walkable, more green, more accessible, and, simply, more pleasant.


Our Vision of beirut

The Program recognizes Beirut as a cultural and economic center in the region, the heart of a metropolitan area, the capital city of Lebanon, and its main gateway to the outside world. It envisions Beirut as a vibrant, dynamic, and efficient city that:

  • values social inclusivity, accessibility, and diversity, and is forward-looking in its commitments to long-term sustainable development,
  • embraces its waterfront,
  • celebrates its rich heritage as an economic and cultural capital,
  • boasts an integrated network of green, socially inclusive public spaces,
  • offers a variety of housing options to respond to the multiple needs of its dwellers,
  • works with surrounding towns to respond to the imperatives of urban mobility and adequate shelter,
  • recognizes the need to live in harmony with its environment,
  • capitalizes on and benefits from entrepreneurship and innovation to sustain economic growth and job creation,
  • and upgrades its public services and amenities to improve the livelihoods and wellbeing of its citizens.

Beirut, in short, is the city where we want our children to grow and build their futures, where our parents can age gracefully, and where we aspire to live.


OUR VISION OF THE MUNICIPALITY

Beirut Madinati envisions the city’s municipality as the public agency that represents and responds to the needs of all city dwellers and derives its legitimacy by representing them rather than representing particular political parties. The municipality will be transparent in its planning and budgeting processes, and will provide numerous channels for those who live or work in Beirut to shape the municipality’s priorities and workings, and to request specific actions. The municipality will be aware of the best practices of municipalities world-wide, will employ those appropriate to Beirut, and will draw on the large, underutilized pool of technical experts available in Lebanon to implement innovative approaches for addressing our most pressing problems.


OUR PROGRAM IN 10 points

Beirut’s municipality has the powers and resources it needs to alleviate many of the problems that make living and working in Beirut ever more difficult. Beirut Madinati will marshal these to make Beirut a better place for all of us.  Below are 10 key promises of the Beirut Madinati campaign, drawn from a more detailed planning document that is available on the BM.com website.

1.Mobility

Improve urban mobility through an integrated strategy that makes soft options (i.e. walking, biking) more viable, enhances and organizes shared transportation systems (e.g. large buses, mini-vans, services, taxis) within the administrative city boundaries and beyond, and reduces air pollution.  This strategy will also address the commute within the Greater Beirut area by reorganizing, in partnership with public authorities and other municipalities, existing systems (e.g. buses, mini-buses, services, taxis), and establishing new, rapid bus lines with dedicated roads and parking facilities on the outskirts of the city.  In addition, we will introduce neighborhood-level public parks with underground parking facilities.  In addition to creating public gardens, storing cars underground will free space for wider sidewalks and bicycle lanes. Finally, we will improve traffic management in the city, in partnership with local traffic and the police force, in ways that enforce traffic regulations and improve driving behavior.

Today about 70% of trips in Beirut rely on the use of private cars. At peak hours, most of these cars move at the speed of a pedestrian walking at a normal pace. Only 3% of current trips are conducted by walking and/or biking. The rest relies on shared modes of transportation.

Within 6 years only 45% of trips will be conducted by private cars, and at least 15% will be by walking or biking. The remaining 40% will be through shared transportation.

2.GREENERY &
PUBLIC SPACE

Improve greenery and public space by incorporating the city’s shared spaces into a network of green passages and spaces that simultaneously act as pedestrian paths and as an array of meeting and play areas of multiple sizes and functions. We will upgrade the entire waterfront by improving its accessibility and views, and by strengthening its role as an attractive socially and economically active zone that can support livelihoods. We will increase the number of publically accessible green areas in the city. Every neighborhood will have at least one public garden that serves the local community.

Today Beirut offers less than 1m2/person of green open space while the World Health Organization recommends at least 9 m2/person.

Within 6 years we will increase that number to at least 5m2/capita.

3.HOUSING

Make housing more affordable for future homeowners and tenants. We will introduce incentives for developers to upgrade or replace deteriorating housing and propose new planning tools to revise the incentive and taxation structures that currently hinder production of affordable housing.  We will develop upgrading strategies for informal settlements and low-income neighborhoods where housing stocks have gravely deteriorated. Finally, by reducing the cost and inconvenience of commuting (point 1 above), families will find it easier to live outside the city’s administrative borders where housing is more affordable. We will also address the issue of the old rent regulation in a framework that recognizes both the rights of landlords to their assets and the tenants’ rights to live in the city.

Today the average price of an apartment is more than $570,000, or 1270 times the minimum monthly wage. At this rate, more than half of the children in Beirut today will not be able to secure a home in the city.

4.WASTE MANAGEMENT

Implement an integrated solid waste management strategy by providing incentives for businesses and households to reduce waste, sort at the source, and by implementing a system of secondary sorting, reuse and recycling. In addition, we will establish an Office of Solid Waste Management inside the Municipality of Beirut to ensure that we never again face a garbage crisis, and to work towards making Beirut a model zero waste city. The Office will work with regional and national agencies and authorities to establish and maintain sanitary landfills and dispose of toxic waste and to articulate and implement the long term waste reduction strategy. Finally, and in the event that the current waste crisis is not solved by the time the Campaign takes office in May, we will implement an emergency crisis measure to set in place a dismountable state of the art waste treatment facility within the municipal boundaries of the city.

Today Beirut produces 600 tons/day of solid waste. 90% of this waste is landfilled despite the fact that almost all of it recyclable.

Within 6 years Beirut will recycle at least 40% of its solid waste, and implement management methods that are in compliance with best practices world wide.

5.NATURAL HERITAGE

Protect and develop Beirut’s built and natural heritage, including its waterfront, as a cultural and economic resource that enhances character, enriches cultural life, plays a role in economic development, fosters cultural tourism and enhances competitiveness in business recruitment and retention.

Today the Beirut coastline is largely occupied by private complexes, restaurants, and other facilities that block access and view to the sea.

Within 6 years we will establish an interlinked network of public gardens, open spaces, a publicly accessible waterfront and natural and architectural heritage.

6.COMMUNITY SPACES
& SERVICES

Build community spaces and enhance services, in partnership with stakeholders and active NGOs.  We will equip the city with community centers, libraries, social support services, educational facilities, and other elements vital to the social life of the city.

Today Beirut has only three public libraries, built in partnership between the Municipality and an NGO, As-Sabeel. No new library has been built in the past 6 years. The city has no other public community centers.

Within 6 years we will double the number of public libraries and enhance the larger infrastructure of social services.

7.SOCIO-ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Integrate social justice, poverty alleviation, and socio-economic development as crosscutting goals to be addressed in all projects initiated by the municipality. The municipality will unfold initiatives and projects that revive local markets, stimulate entrepreneurship, and address unemployment and urban poverty. It will do so by actively connecting, partnering and bridging with both the private and the non-profit sectors. Furthermore, in its assessment of every municipal project, it will consider and integrate the social and economic impacts and benefits to the middle and lower income groups. The municipality will actively review the local taxation system, identify unfair and harmful elements to the livelihoods of Beirut’s inhabitants, and advocate actively for its transformation.

Today unemployment stands at double its 2011 level, and one in four job seekers, half of whom are youth, cannot find a job. Many of the poverty pockets are located within Beirut and the gap between rich and poor is widening. Businesses have difficulties growing and surviving while many households suffer from the rising cost of living.

Within 6 years the municipality will have installed local markets for small producers and buyers. It will contribute to an enabling environment for local entrepreneurship in sectors of relevance to the city’s economy and reduce entrepreneurs’ operational and infrastructural costs. The Municipality will attach a social clause to every public work contract that requires contractors to consider the social impacts of their implementation strategies.

8.ENVIRONMENTAL
SUSTAINABILITY

Integrate principles of environmental sustainability and stewardship across all regulatory and operational interventions of the municipality, particularly in relation to the building development sector.  We will introduce regulations and incentives for utilizing building design strategies that minimize energy use, and for reducing the negative environmental impacts of construction activities. We will introduce and lobby for the adoption of new local regulations and incentives for developers and builders to enhance biodiversity through the use of green roofs, greening vertical habitats, and the use of artificial nesting sites when applicable. Finally, we will lead in the effort towards green building by retrofitting municipal buildings with modern energy and resource conservation technologies and by introducing regulatory constraints and incentives to improve the short, medium, and long-term energy efficiency and environmental qualities of the city.

Within 6 years we will renovate municipal buildings to become exemplars of green buildings, and establish incentives and clear design guidelines for new construction projects.

9.HEALTH AND SAFETY

Prioritize the health and safety of all city dwellers by recognizing the municipality’s responsibility to monitor, lobby for, and intervene through incentives and projects that provide clean water, reduce air pollution by reducing traffic and electricity generators, resolve the current waste crisis, improve  sewage management, among others. We will also introduce an integrated lighting system that improves street safety and monitor crime rates and articulate neighborhood-based, community responses in areas where security conditions are deteriorating.

Today Beirut’s environment is a threat to everyday health because of poor air quality, poor levels of cleanliness, and the absence of monitoring of our air, water, and physical environment.

Within 6 years we will have clean city streets and will remove the large open-air waste bins that sit in our streets. To monitor water quality and set up a plan with the Beirut Water Authority to alleviate the water problems and their symptoms. To implement a city-wide lighting plan that improves night safety.

10.GOVERNANCE

Improve the organizational structure of the Municipality, train its staff, and address the main institutional challenges that have plagued the performance of councils for decades. We pledge to acknowledge, enhance, and sustain as the municipality’s main asset the wide network of active civil groups and NGOs that have invested in the well-being of the city. We further pledge to work towards an efficient working relationship with the governor of Beirut and work with the governor’s office to set up a human resources department, which will evaluate municipal employee performance, improve social security coverage, and address the municipal civil servants’ inclusion in the civil servants’ funds (ta’awuniyya).
We also pledge to appoint a City Planner, experienced in the organization and management of city affairs, and will charge him/her with forming a team of qualified professionals who will implement our vision. We will train municipal staff and introduce a performance-based system of evaluation that rewards loyalty to the city and its dwellers.
We will develop comprehensive Standard Operating Procedures to organize and govern the work and performance of all units and departments. We will train municipal police and Beirut’s guard in the standards of community policing, and provide them with incentives to improve road safety, mobility, cleanliness, and thus improve security in the city, in collaboration with other security services.
We will introduce performance-based budgeting to better serve the needs of its dwellers in transparent and accountable ways. We will create multiple participatory structures through which city dwellers will be informed about the municipality and the city’s affairs and be given the channels to participate actively in the important decisions of the city’s future and its daily management.

البرنامج

برنامج ”بيروت مدينتي“ هو خطة عمل متكاملة تسعى إلى تحسين ظروف المعيشة لمدينة بيروت وضعه عدد من الخبراء والباحثين والناشطين في الشؤون الحضرية والمحلية عملوا وناصروا لسنوات عديدة من أجل تطوير وتنفيذ مشاريع إنمائية محورها الناس ومعيشتهم؛ إنما اصطدموا  كل مرّة بعدم استجابة صانعي القرار وتغاضيهم عن تحقيق ذلك. فبعدما أدرك هؤلاء عدم الجدوى في محاولة إقناع المجالس البلدية السابقة من أن صلاح العيش في المدينة يجب أن تكون في صلب أولويات الإدارة المحلية، بادروا إلى إطلاق حملة انتخابية بلدية غايتها إيصال أفراد يتحّلون بالكفاءة أولويتهم تحسين المعيشة في بيروت، لتصبح مدينة آمنة وسالكة وخضراء وميسورة التكلفة وحاضنة لأهلها وسكانها.


رؤيتنا لبيروت

يرى البرنامج مدينة بيروت كمركزٍ ثقافي وإقتصادي في المنطقة، عاصمة لبنان وبوّابته الرئيسيّة إلى العالم الخارجي. يتصوّر البرنامج بيروت كمدينة حيويّة، نابضة وفعّالة وتولي اهتماماً خاصاً للتداخل الاجتماعي وسهولة التّواصل والتنوّع  وتتبع منهجاً تطلّعياً في إلتزاماتها بالتّنمية المُستدامة. رويتنا لبيروت هي مدينة تحتضن واجهتها البحرية، وتتغنّى بتراثها الثقافي وموقعها الاقتصادي، وتتمايز بشبكة متكاملة من الأماكن العامة الخضراء التي تعزّز التداخل الإجتماعي. بيروت التي نريد تقدم مجموعة متنوعة من الخيارات السّكنية لتستجيب لإحتياجات أهلها وسكانها المتعدّدة، وتعمل مع البلدات المحيطة بها للإستجابة لمستلزمات التنقّل والحركة في المدينة فضلاً عن السكن الملائم. بيروت مدينتنا تدرك الحاجة إلى العيش بإنسجام مع محيطها، وتستثمر وتستفيد من روح المبادرة والإبتكار لتعزيز النموالاقتصادي وخلق فرص العمل، وتقوم بتحديث خدماتها ومرافقها العامة من أجل تحسين معيشة سكانها وأهلها ورفاهيتهم.


بيروت، بإختصار، هي المدينة التي نريد لأولادنا أن ينموا ويبنوا مستقبلهم فيها، ولأهلنا أن يشيخوا بكرامة، والتي فيها نَتوق إلى العيش.


رؤيتنا لبلدية بيروت

بلدية بيروت هي الإدارة المحلية العامة التي تمثل كل أهلها وسكانها، وتستجيب لكل حاجاتهم وتصون مصالحهم بعيداً عن الاصطفافات والتجاذبات السياسية وتستمد شرعيتها من تمثيل الناس. تقدم البلدية المعلومات عبر آليات عمل شفافة، وتوفر لأهل وسكان المدينة العديد من القنوات لتمكينهم من التعبير عن هواجسهم وإشراكهم في تحسين شؤونهم اليومية ومستقبلهم. استراتيجيتنا التطويرية في بلدية بيروت محورها الناس وشؤونهم اليومية والمحلية، وأولويتها تحسين المدينة وجعلها صالحة للعيش الكريم.


البرنامج، ما هو؟ ملّخص بعشر نقاط

تتمتع بلدية بيروت بالصلاحيات والموارد الوافية والكافية لمعالجة عدد كبير من الإشكاليات والتحديات التي جعلت العيش والعمل في المدينة أشبه بالمستحيل. تتعهد «بيروت مدينتي» تذليل هذه التحديات لتصبح بيروت مكاناً ملائماً لحياة كريمة. فيما يلي 10 وعود رئيسية لحملة «بيروت مدينتي»، مُستمَدّة من وثيقة عمل أكثر تفصيلاً، ومتوفّرة على موقع «بيروت مدينتي» الإلكتروني.

1.الحركة والنقل

تحسين النقل والحركة في المدينة (الحَضَري) من خلال استراتيجية متكاملة تجعل الخيارات السهلة (مثل المشي وركوب الدراجة الهوائية) أكثر قابلية للتطبيق، وتعزّز وتنظّم وسائل النقل المشترك (الباصات الكبيرة، الفانات الصغيرة، التاكسي، السرفيس) داخل حدود المدينة الإدارية وخارجها، وتساهم في تخفيض تلوث الهواء. ستتناول هذه الاستراتيجية أيضاً حركة التنقل اليومي داخل منطقة بيروت الكبرى، بالشراكة مع السلطات العامة والبلديات الأخرى، لإعادة تنظيم الوسائل الموجودة (باصات، فانات، سرفيس، تاكسي)، وإنشاء خطوط من الباصات السريعة مع طُرُق مخصّصة ومرافق للوقوف على أطراف المدينة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، سنقوم بإستحداث حدائق عامة ومواقف للسيارات تحت الأرض على مستوى الأحياء السكنيّة. فضلاً عن إنشاء حدائق عامة، فإن مواقفٍ السيارات السفليّة يحرّر مساحة أكبر للأرصفة وممرّات الدراجات. أخيراً، سنقوم بتحسين إدارة حركة المرور في المدينة، بالشراكة مع إدارة حركة النقل المحلّي وقوّات الشّرطة، بشكلٍ يقوّي الإلتزام بقوانين السّير ويحسّن سلوك القيادة.

الحالة الراهنة: حوالي %70 من حركة التنقل في بيروت تعتمد اليوم على السيارات الخاصة. خلال ساعات الذروة، أغلبية هذه السيارات تتحرك بسرعة المشاة. %3 فقط من حركة التنقل تعتمد على على الدراجة الهوائية. الباقي يعتمد على وسائل النقل المشترك.

هدفنا: خلال 6 سنوات، %45 فقط من حركة التنقل ستعتمد على السيارات الخاصة و%15 على الأقل ستعتمد على المشي أو الدراجة الهوائية. الـ %40 المتبقية ستستقّل وسائل النقل المشترك.

2.الحيّز العام والمساحات الخضراء

تحسين المساحات الخضراء والأماكن العامة من خلال دمج المساحات المشتركة في المدينة ضمن شبكة من الممرات والمساحات الخضراء التي توفر في آن واحد ممراً للمشاة وساحة للقاء والترفيه بأحجامٍ ووظائفٍ متعدّدة. سنقوم بإعادة تأهيل الواجهة البحرية باتجاه جعلها حاضنة اجتماعياً ونابضة اقتصادياً. سنقوم بزيادة عدد المساحات الخضراء المُتاحة للعامّة في المدينة، حيث سيكون لكل حَي سكني حديقة عامة واحدة على الأقل، تخدم المجتمع المحلي.

الحالة الراهنة: تؤمن بيروت اليوم أقل من 1م2 من المساحة الخضراء المتاحة للفرد الواحد بينما توصي منظمة الصحة العالمية بما لا يقل عن 9م2 للفرد الواحد.

هدفنا: خلال 6 سنوات سنرفع هذا الرقم إلى 5م2 للفرد الواحد.

3.السّكن

ملاءمة كلفة السكن والتوفيق بين مصالح المالكين والمستأجرين المستقبليين على أساس العدالة الاجتماعية. سنقدّم حوافز للمطوّرين لتحديث أواستبدال الظروف السكنيّة المتدهورة، وسنقترح أدوات جديدة للتخطيط بهدف إعادة النظر في السياسة الضريبية والتحفيزية التي تُعيق حالياً عملية إنتاج وحدات سكنية بأسعار معقولة. سنعمل على وضع استراتيجيات تحسين التجمعات غير النظاميّةوالأحياء السكنية لذوي الدخل المحدود، بعد تدهور الأرصدة السكنية بشكلٍ خطير. أخيراً، من خلال تذليل العقبات أمام التنقل اليومي من والى العمل (راجع النقطة 1)، سيصبح من السهل للعائلات العيش خارج الحدود الإدارية للمدينة، حيث تكلفة السكن أكثر يُسراً.

الحالة الراهنة: يصل متوسط سعر الشقة اليوم إلى أكثر من 570,000 دولار، أي ما يعادل 1270 ضعف الحد الأدنى للأجور. بهذا المعدل، أكثر من نصف الأطفال في بيروت سوف يعجزون عن تأمين سكن لهم في المدينة.

هدفنا: المساهمة في معالجة مشكلة الإيجارات القديمة وتأمين وحدات سكنية ميسورة التكلفة.

4.إدارة النفايات الصلبة

وضع استراتيجية متكاملة لإدارة النفايات الصلبة من خلال تأمين حوافز للشركات والأسر للخفض من توليد النفايات والفرز من المصدر، ومن خلال تطبيق نظام الفرز الثانوي وإعادة الاستخدام وإعادة التدوير. إلى جانب ذلك، سنقوم بتأسيس «مكتب إدارة النفايات الصلبة» داخل بلدية بيروت، لنتأكد من أننا لن نواجه أزمة نفايات أخرى، وللعمل على جعل بيروت نموذج لمدينة غير منتِجة للنفايات. وسيعمل المكتب مع هيئات وسلطات إقليمية ووطنية لإنشاء والحفاظ على مواقع الطمر الصحي والتخلص من النفايات السامة، وبلورة وتنفيذ استراتيجية طويلة الأمد للحد من النفايات. أخيراً، وفي حال عدم إيجاد حَلّ لأزمة النفايات الحالية قبل تولّي الحملة لمنصب البلدية في أيار، سنبادر الى تنفيذ خطة طوارئ لهذه الأزمة عبر انشاء معمل نقال لمعالجة النفايات ضمن الحدود البلديّة للمدينة.

الحالة الراهنة: تنتج بيروت اليوم 600 طن من النفايات الصلبة في اليوم الواحد. %90 من هذه النفايات يتم طمرها على الرغم من أن معظمها قابل للتدوير.

هدفنا: خلال 6 سنوات، ستقوم بيروت بإعادة تدوير %40 على الأقل من نفاياتها الصلبة، وستطبّق تقنيات إدارية تمتثل لأفضل الممارسات الدولية.

5.التراث الطبيعي والثقافي

حماية وتطوير تراث بيروت المعماري والطبيعي والثقافي، بما في ذلك الواجهة البحرية كمورد ثقافي وإقتصادي يعزز خاصيّة المدينة، يُثري الحياة الثقافية، يلعب دوراً في التنمية الاقتصادية، يدعم السياحة الثقافية وينمّي القدرة التنافسية للتوظيف المستدام في مجال الأعمال.

الحالة الراهنة: تعتري الشاطئ اللبناني اليوم تعديات جمّة نتيجة المجمعات والمطاعم والمنشآت الأخرى المقامة عليه والتي تسدّ المجال البصري لرؤية الشاطئ والبحر وتعترض الوصول إليه.

هدفنا: خلال 6 سنوات، سنعمل على إنشاء شبكة مترابطة من الحدائق والمساحات العامة والمشتركة ، فضلاً عن واجهة بحرية متاحة للجميع وتراث طبيعي ومعماري.

6.الخدمات والمرافق المجتمعية المشتركة

بناء المراكز المجتمعيّة وتحسين الخدمات،بالشراكة مع جميع الجهات المعنية والناشطة. سنزوّد المدينة بمراكز مُجتمعيّة، مكتبات، خدمات للدعم الإجتماعي، مرافق تعليميّة وغيرها من العناصر الجوهريّة للحياة الإجتماعية في المدينة.

الحالة الراهنة: يقتصر عدد المكتبات العامة في بيروت اليوم على ثلاث مكتبات فقط أُنشِأت شراكة بين البلدية والمنظمة غير الحكومية «السبيل». لم يتم إنشاء أية مكتبة جديدة خلال الست سنوات الأخيرة. تفتقد المدينة لمراكز اجتماعية عامة أخرى.

هدفنا: خلال 6 سنوات، سنضاعف عدد المكتبات العامة وسنحسّن المرافق المجتمعيّة المشتركة والبنية التحتيّة  للخدمات العامة.

7.الإنماء الاقتصادي والاجتماعي

دمج العدالة الاجتماعية والتخفيف من حدة الفقر، والتنمية الاجتماعية-الاقتصادية كأهداف متقاطعة وأخذها بعين الاعتبار في جميع المشاريع التي تستحدثها البلدية. ستكشف البلدية عن مبادرات ومشاريع من شأنها إعادة إنعاش الأسواق المحليّة، كما ستحفّز روح المبادرة وستتطرّأ لمشكلتَي البطالة والفقر في المدينة. ستحقق ذلك من خلال الإتصال والمشاركة وإقامة الجسور مع كلٍّ من القطاعات غير الربحيّة والخاصّة. علاوةً على ذلك، وعند تقييمها لكل مشروع، ستقوم البلدية بتناول وضَمّ التأثيرات والفوائد الإجتماعيّة والإقتصاديّة على الفئات ذات الدّخل المتوسّط والمتدنّي. ستبادر البلدية الى إعادة النظر بآلية جباية الضرائب المحلّية وكيفية توزيعها بهدف خدمة مصالح المدينة والتذليل من آثارها السلبة على معيشة أهل بيروت وسكانها.

الحالة الراهنة: تبلغ نسبة البطالة اليوم ضعف ما كانت عليه خلال العام 2011. واحد من كل أربعة طالبي عمل، نصفهم من الشباب، لا يجد فرص للعمل. العديد من جيوب الفقر تقع في بيروت، والفجوة بين الفقير والغني تتوسّع. تواجه المؤسسات والمحلات التجارية تحديات على صعيد النمو والاستدامة، بينما تعاني العديد من الأُسَر من غلاء المعيشة.

هدفنا: خلال 6 سنوات، ستدعم البلدية المتاجر المحلية لصغار المنتجين والمُشتَرين.كما ستساهم في تأمين بيئة مواتية لريادة الأعمال المحلية في قطاعاتٍ ذات صلة بالاقتصاد المحلي وستحُد من تكاليف التشغيل والبُنى التحتية الخاصة بأصحاب الأعمال. وستفرض البلدية شروطاً خاصة في متن عقود الأشغال والتلزيمات العامة لحمل المتعاقدين على اعتبار وتقييم الآثار الاجتماعية لاستراتيجياتهم التنفيذية.

8.البيئة المستدامة

دمج مبادئ الاستدامة والإدارة البيئية في جميع المشاريع التنظيمية والتشغيلية للبلدية، لا سيما في ما يتعلق بقطاع تطوير البناء. سنقوم بوضع ضوابط وحوافز لإستخدام استراتيجيات تصميم المباني، من شأنها تخفيض إستخدام الطاقة والحَد من التأثيرات البيئيّة السلبيّة لأنشطة البناء. سوف نمارس ضغطاً من أجل تبنّي ضوابط وحوافزجديدة للمقاولين والمتعهدين من شأنها تحسين التنوّع الحيوي، من خلال استخدام أسطح خضراء، تخضير الموائل العاموديّة واستعمال مواقع التعشيش الإصطناعي عند الإنطباق. أخيراً، سنعمل على تحفيز واعتماد المباني الخضراء (أي البناء المُستَدام) عبر تزويد مباني البلدية بتقنيّات الطاقة الحديثة وحِفظ الموارد، وأيضاً عبر وضع قيود وحوافز تنظيميّة لتحسين كفاءة الطاقة القصيرة والمتوسّطة والطويلة الأجل، لتحسين خصائص المدينة البيئية.

الحالة الراهنة: يسبب قطاع البناء اليوم 40 بالمئة من  انبعاثات غاز ثاني أكسيد الكربون وهدراً هائلاً للمياه، فضلاً عن أن مواد البناء المستخدمة حالياً لا تراعي أدنى معايير البيئة السليمة. علاوة على ذلك، تفتقد المباني العامة في بيروت إلى معايير الأبنية الخضراء والنموذجية والتي تعتميد على كفاءة في استخدام الموارد.

هدفنا: خلال 6 سنوات، سنرمم المباني العائدة للبلدية لتصبح نماذج للمباني الخضراء، وسنضع حوافز ومبادئ تصميم واضحة لمشاريع البناء الجديدة.

9.الصحة والسلامة العامة

إعطاء الأولوية لصحة وسلامة جميع أهل المدينة وسكانها من خلال الاضطلاع بمسؤولية البلدية في المراقبة وممارسة الضّغط والتدخّل بواسطة حوافز ومشاريع توفّر المياه النظيفة، تَحُدّ من تلوث الهواء عن طريق الحد من حركة المرور ومولّدات الكهرباء، تحل أزمة النفايات الحالية، تُحسِّن إدارة مياه الصرف الصحي وغيرها من الأمور. سنقدّم أيضاً نظام إضاءة متكامل يرفع مستوى السلامة في الشوارع ويساهم في تخفيض معدّل الجريمه ويستجيب للحاجات المجتمعية في الأحياء السكنية حيث باتت السلامة الفردية فيها مترديّة.

الحالة الراهنة: تشكل بيئة بيروت اليوم تهديداً على الصحة العامة بسبب رداءة نوعية الهواء وتدني مستوى النظافة العامة، وافتقاد الآليات اللازمة لمراقبة تلوث الهواء والماء.

هدفنا: خلال 6 سنوات، ستصبح شوارع مدينتنا نظيفة وسنزيل مستوعبات النفايات المرمية في الهواء الطلق.كما سنراقب نوعية المياه وسنضع خطة بالتعاون مع “مؤسسة مياه بيروت وجبل لبنان” للحد من مشاكل تلوث المياه وسننفذ خطة إضاءة في جميع أنحاء المدينة لتحسين السلامة الليلية.

10.الحوكمة

تحسين الهيكل التنظيمي للجهاز البلدي وتدريب موظّفيها وتذليل التحديات المؤسساتية الرئيسية التي أعاقت عمل المجالس المنتخبة منذ عقود. نتعهّد بدعم وتعزيز الشبكة الواسعة للمجموعات المدنيّة والمنظمات غير الحكومية التي استثمرت وعملت لصالح المدينة ونموها، إدراكاً منّا بأنها مصدر طاقة رئيسي للبلدية. نتعهّد أيضاً بالسعي لإرساء علاقة بنّاءة مع محافظ بيروت والعمل على إنشاء قسم موارد بشرية خاص بالجهاز الإداري للبلدية وتفعيل التغطية الاجتماعية والصحية للموظّفين العاملين في البلدية من خلال القنوات المتاحة.

كما نتعهد باللجوء الى خبرات مخططين مدنيين يتولون تنظيم وإدارة شؤون المدينة بمساعدة فريق عمل مؤلف من مهنيين مؤهلين لتنفيذ رؤيتنا. كما سنقوم بتدريب فريق موظفي البلدية، وبإدخال نظام تقييم قائم على الأداء، يُكافئ العمل لمصلحة المدينة وأهلها وسكانها.

سنقوم بتطوير إجراءات تشغيل دائمة وشاملة، لتنظيم وضَبط عمل وأداء جميع الوحدات والإدارات.كما سنقوم بتدريب عناصر شرطة البلدية وحراسها وفقاً للمعايير المجتمعيّة لحفظ النظام، وسنوفّر لهم الحوافز لتحسين السلامة على الطرقات، وتحسين التنقّل والنظافة، وبالتالي تحسين الوضع الأمني في المدينة، وذلك كله بالتعاون مع أجهزة أمنيّة أخرى.

سنقدّم موازَنة قائمة على الأداء من أجل تلبية أفضل لإحتياجات أهل المدينة وسكانها، عبر وسائلٍ شفافة وقابلة للمُسائلة. وسنقوم بإنشاء آليات تشاركيّة متعدّدة، يتم من خلالها إعلام سكان بيروت وأحيائها بأعمال البلدية وبشؤون المدينة، وستومّن لهم السُّبُل للمشاركة الفعّالة في القرارات الهامّة لمستقبل المدينة ولإدارتها اليوميّة.